District Police, Kochi City

Jurisdictional Map of Kochi City Police

Kochi City Police unit has its boundary with Ernakulam Rural Police unit, Alappuzha District, and Arabian Sea on the Western Side.

The District Police Office, District Special Branch, District Head Quarters (Administration), District Crime Records Bureau, and Cyber Cell, are housed at the head quarters at 11 th Floor of Revenue Tower Ernakulam . Police Control Room functions from Thevara, District Armed Reserve at Thripunithura and Kochi, Tourism Police at Fort Kochi and Traffic Units at Ernakulam,Edapally,Thripunithura and Palluruthy are other organs of the Kochi City Police. For the maintenance of law and order Kochi City Police Unit is subdivided into 3 Sub Divisions, 8 Circles and 27 Police Stations.

Sanctioned Strength of Kochi City police

Executive Wing

Rank Strength
District Police Chief1
Dy Commissioner of Police 2
Asst. Commissioner of Police10
Circle Inspector 14
Women Inspector1
Sub Inspector of Police (Local) 137
SI (Vanitha PS)2
SI (Women Cell)2
Asst. Sub Inspector of Police (Local) 81
Head Constable (Local) 414
Woman Head Constable 12
Police Constable (Local) 1206
Women Police Constable 239

Armed Reserve Unit

Rank Strength
Deputy Commandant1
Asst. Commandant 4
Reserve Inspector 3
Motor Transport Inspector1
Reserve Sub Inspector9
Driver SI1
Armour SI1
Asst.Sub inspector (Motor Dvr)3
Asst. Reserve Sub Inspector16
Armour ASI1
Head Constable AR 58
Armour Head Constable2
Police Constable (AR) 628
Driver HC/PC 144
Armour PC2
Fitter PC3
Dog Handler2
Carpenter PC1
Mechanical HC/PC1
Dhobi 5
Boat Dvr6
Boat Syrang6
Lascar Duck Hard6

Ministerial Wing

Rank Strength
Admn. Assistant1
JS 7
Confidential Asst.2
CES Supernumerary LDC 25
Peon 6
Full Time Sweeper 10
Part Time Sweeper --

Organisation Structure of Kochi City Police.

  • Commissioner Police Office, Kochi City
    • DCP Law & Order and Traffic
    • DCP Administration
    • Mattanchery Sub Division
      • Fort Kochi PS
      • Harbour PS
      • Mattanchery PS
      • Kannamaly PS
      • Tourism PS
      • Palluruthy PS
      • Thoppumpady PS
      • Kumbalangi OP
      • Coastal PS
    • Ernakulam Sub Division
      • Central PS
      • Mulavukad PS
      • Vanitha PS
      • Kadavanthra PS
      • Palarivattom PS
      • Cheranalloor PS
      • EloorPS
    • Thrikkakara Sub Division
      • Et South PS
      • Maradu PS
      • Panangad PS
      • Hill palacePS
      • Ambalamedu PS
      • Udayamperoor PS
      • Kalamassery PS
      • Elamakkara PS
      • Thrikkakara PS
      • Info Park PS
    • District Head Quarters
    • District Special Branch
      • Passport Cell,
    • District Crime Branch
    • District Crime Records Bureau
    • Narcotic Cell
    • District Armed Reserve