Coastal Police Station



Coastal Police, as the name suggests, will be on the coast. Government of India, as a part of a scheme, has sanctioned 8 Coastal Police Stations in the State. They will be located at Vizhinjam(Thiruvananthapuram District), Neendakara(Kollam District), Thottampally(Alapuzha District), Fort Kochi(Ernakulam District), Azhikkode(Thrissur District), Beypore(Kozhikode District), Azheekkal(Kannur District) and Thalangara(Kasargode District). Each of the Coastal District is covered by a Coastal Police Station. These Coastal Police Stations will basically look after the security of the coasts and conduct patrolling in the sea up to 5 nautical miles.

The Cases reported on the sea (in the Territorial Waters) will be investigated by the Coastal Police.